Word of mouth marketing-Being memorable enough to talk about

5 09 2007

This weekend my brother Joe got married in a little town of Warwick, NY. I was looking for some pizza to eat and there where a few pizza places in this small town. Since I knew nothing of the area I was reliant on other people’s good taste. Now I just asked to a few people where can I get a slice of pizza? I didn’t preface my request with anything more than that. However the response I got from several people who didn’t realize I was gathering several opinions to make my decision where the same. You gotta go to Franks if you want real New York Style pizza they are the best. Now I didn’t know what they meant but these people all spoke in a passionate way about this place.

The key factor is that they expressed in in such a way that made me feel that –IF I DIDN’T GO TO THIS PLACE THATI WOULD BE MISSING SOMETHING REALLY  AMAZING THAT I WASN’T ABLE TO GET ANYWHERE ELSE. I had to go just to see what they meant and I told Frank that others had said I simply had to come here. His reply was “oh you must have been talking to some of my best customers”

My point in word of mouth marketing or buzz marketing is you have to give people great reasons to talk about your business. This guy after tasting the pizza it was the memorable recipe he used. Most people open up a pizza place because it makes more money that almost any other business and it is really easy to do. However this guy and several other great foods I have had do it to impact people taste buds first.

Word of mouth marketing is not something you can pay for.Instead it has to be something people have to experience in order to understand. What do you do as a business exceptionally that your customers rave about? All business have the ability to do amazing things but you have to decide to showcase your gift in such a way people can lead others to you. Start looking at when your friends are describing their favorite places to you in any industry how they are talking about it. If people are recommending place that is one thing but if they are speaking with ANY type of emotion that is how you want people to describe you. If you create something that stands head and shoulders above the rest people will be talking about you with the same passions that I found put about Frank’s Pizza in Warwick, NY.

Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2007
Business » Word of mouth marketing-Being memorable enough to talk about

[…] jinoe wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptMy point in word of mouth marketing or buzz marketing is you have to give people great reasons to talk about your business. This guy after tasting the pizza it was the memorable recipe he used. Most people open up a pizza place because … […]

Leave a Reply

